We sank the young Château Bouscaut 2004 Pessac-Léognan this evening over a large bowl of pasta.  I’d got it chilled right down as, I think, all dry whites should be drunk very, very cold.  Oz reckons that you can disguise a poor dry white by chilling it to almost freezing.    Well, that was as cold as I got the Bouscaut, but there was no need to hide any deficiencies – it was delicious.    You could taste its youth – fresh, crisp, citrus and the aroma of freshly-mown grass – but it didn’t have any of the acidity that you might expect from a “too-young” dry white.  If it continues to improve over the 5/6 years that Oz recommends, then it’ll turn into an absolutely stonking drop.  And at 12,45 euros a bottle, top value too.   Michelle has demanded that I venture forth to buy some more for the cave.  It seems that she’s getting into this as much as I am, which is helpful.

