02-feb-2007.JPGI haven’t done much wine-related stuff this week.  I had some proper work to do.  Not as much fun – but it pays the bills.  One thing I had found myself doing was getting slightly obsessed by Chateau Fleur Cardinale!  You’ll have seen the previous post, of course, about this lovely St-Emilion Grand Cru.  I’d picked up the last bottle on the shelf  – a 2002 vintage – in a local Leclerc supermarket and it was delicious.  Then I’d read that Fleur Cardinale had (unsurprisingly) recently been promoted to Grand Cru Classe in the St-Emilion re-classification late last year.  Well, since then I’ve been trying to find some more.  I tried the local supermarkets in Saintes and Royan with no success, so today I decided to take a trip further afield, and ventured the 25km or so to the wine department of the E.Leclerc supermarket in Jonzac – by far the best we’ve come across in the (relatively) local area.  Success!  But not at any price…

I bought a case of, again, the 2002 vintage at 18,90 a piece; some five euros more per bottle than I’d paid in Saintes a couple of weeks ago (in the same supermarket chain, remember).  I assumed that the price increase was a reflection of the recent increase in status of the chateau and, indeed, may well have been – partly at least.  Partly because I also saw the Chateau Belgrave 2003 Haut-Medoc on sale for a shade over 19 euros whereas we had paid 16,90 euros for the same in Royan over New Year, so it looks like the Leclerc supermarket in Jonzac is rather more expensive that those closer to us.  You’re obviously paying for a greater selection.  Still, I’m pleased to have got hold of some more Fleur Cardinale and am happy that it’s decent value.

I also picked up a couple of bottles of Chateau Poujeaux 2004 – a Moulis recommended by my friend Pete but which will need a good few years in the cave – for 16,90 each, four bottles of white Clos Floridene 2004 (of which I already have some of its red) for 12,60 a piece and a couple of bottles of another white, Chateau Le Thil Comte Clary 2002, a Pessac-Leognan with a decent reputation at 9,90 euros.

So all in all, not a bad little trip.  We’re having a bottle of the Fleur Cardinale this evening to celebrate!

