8cd7_1.jpgI hadn’t realised it until this afternoon – because I don’t think it’s possible on the UK eBay site – but on the French version, there’s a very healthy wine section.  I’m not sure whether I’m ready just yet to trust my wine buying to eBay (though I’m not sure why, having previously bought stuff via the site – I just worry that it might be open to abuse) but it’s certainly worth a browse.  For instance, at time of writing there’s a bottle of Chateau Pavie 2000 St-Emilion 14 hours away from auction end currently going for about 150 euros, or how about this Chateau Mouton-Rothschild 1975 – a day away from close and currently at 66 euros. 

I might try something a little more modest to see how the service is – there’s one dealer in Belgium that seems to have a lot on the site, which might be the place to start.  Perhaps the two bottles of Chateau Pontet-Canet 1989 that are currently going for 36,50 euros with a couple of days to go…

