I was in the UK last week and didn’t drink much wine.  Hence the lack of blogging.  That and, obviously, the knock to my confidence of being entirely fished in by Decanter.com‘s April Fool gag…quite brilliant.  Completely distracted by the red heat of rage upon reading its story, I failed to check the date. 

As I say, I was in London last week and drank some beer.  Quite a lot of it, in fact.  I was out with a fella called Grant Currie, managing director of Inferno PR, a company I have worked with in the past.  Anyone who has had much social contact with Grant will realise that any sentence including the words “Grant” “out” and “beer” can only mean the following sentence will include, “and the following day was a complete write-off and I was nursing a ridiculous hangover.”  Still, it was pleasant when it happened (the beer drinking, not the hangover).

The Easter weekend at home saw a return to wine-drinking normality, however.  My dad had been out and picked up a few bottles of the secone wine from Chateau Haut Bertinerie, the first wine of which I’d bought a bottle of when visiting Blaye a few weeks ago.  I’d really enjoyed the bottle I picked up (a 2004) and thought it good value at around 11 euros.  In fact, at that price, I did wonder why you’d bother buying the second wine!  But then dad’s always on the lookout for a bargain.  It was pleasant enough but, as you’d expect, fairly light and short (if that makes sense!).  Last night we had a bottle of another second wine – this time L’Oratoire de Chasse-Spleen 2003 from Chateau Chasse-Spleen.  Lovely.

The weather’s been brilliant over here for the last week or so and we’re starting to see the first shoots come through on local vines.  Speaking of vines, my old mate James Warren thinks I should plant some of my own here at Les Chapelles.  I think it’s a great idea, but suggested that I start an adoption scheme whereby friends can purchase a block of ten vines, visit and tend them and, obviously, enjoy a proportion of the eventual vintage every year.  James thought it a splendid idea but his offer of £1 a vine was risible, I’m afraid.

Still, it’s tempting.  We’ve got quite heavy clay here on limestone, so I’m thinking that merlot might go well.  Any other suggestions?

