It’s been a bit quiet round here of late.  You may have noticed.  I know some people have, because they’ve been badgering me about it.  There’s a couple of reasons – one being that I’ve been quite busy with other stuff (you know, the kind of stuff that pays the rent!) and the other (and probably better) reason is that I haven’t been drinking quite as much.  I’ve been out on the bike quite a lot training for next year’s London to St-Emilion ride and have been trying to be as good as possible, which means consuming less wine.

Still, the arrival of old buddy James Warren and family here at Les Chapelles for a fortnight’s holiday is a considerable (and welcome) kick up the backside in terms of drinking…and of particularly drinking decent wine.  Over the past few days, therefore, we’ve enjoyed some splendid wines.  Of particular note have been a 2004 Chateau du Tertre Margaux Grand Cru Classe (5th Growth…but better than that!), a 2004 Chateau Yon-Figeac St-Emilion Grand Cru Classe (very kind gift from the Warren’s) and a 2002 Chateau Pontet-Canet Pauillac (equally kind gift from our friends the Hounshams).  Every one of them was delicious.

Speaking of our friends the Hounshams, they hosted a lovely lunch last Sunday for us all.  I took along a few bottles of wine but their names fail me now!  Always my downfall…  I do remember a couple of nice Lalande de Pomerols.

I’m off out this afternoon to buy some wine as we’ve got some more friends popping over for drinks this evening, so will hopefully have some more to report soon!

